I’m back!

It’s been quite a sometime since I last wrote a blog. Reasons many, one being my job. But there has been a lot, in the meantime, I wanted to write, but I couldn’t. And finally here, I’m back to writing.

As I decided to write again, I had to decide on what platform should I continue. I had four choices in my mind

  • Tumblr, as my blogs are always short
  • Medium, the hot chick in the town
  • WordPress, tried and tested
  • WordPress backend running on a hosted server

Why no Blogger? Blogger is too mainstream to be considered. And there are quite a few things I don’t like about Google itself. I have long been trying to come out of the Google Empire (that is a separate story, more later).

I had no real allegations against WordPress. But just wanted to consider a few more options. But eventually I have rejected everything and reached back home. I’ll tell you why.

Tumblr

It’s been there for quite some time. But as I went through a lot of blog posts on Tumblr, one thing is clear. It is more about pictures or texts among pictures. But mine is going to be predominantly text. So that is out.

Medium

I really wanted to write in Medium. From a reputed clan, it is the hot new thing that everyone wants. There is a big but though. You cannot have a design out of it. Yes, it is minimal. But give me at least a simple design choice, Jack. I want to be me.

And there is WordPress backend

It’s quite cool. I loved it. And it’s coming along. There have been some advantages of hosting it on wordpress.com but now with Jetpack plugin everything is here too. I’m redesigning my website to be predominantly blog oriented. And when it is done, I will be migrating to it.

So far now, I’m back and on WordPress. More soon…

Leave a Reply

